You are here: Home > News & Events > News & Events Archive

Minister Martin Announces Membership of the Expert Group on Future Skills Needs

Date: 08 May 2007 

Mr. Micheál Martin the Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment, today (Tuesday 8th May 2007) announced the membership of the Expert Group on Future Skills Needs (EGFSN).

The EGFSN operates under the aegis of Forfás and advises Government on future skills requirements and associated labour market issues that impact on enterprise and employment growth. The Group will ensure that labour market needs for skilled workers are provided for by:

  • Identifying emerging need for policy or structural changes
  • Reviewing the effectiveness and value of operational programmes and delivery systems in place to meet national skills needs
  • Being committed to progressively promote lifelong learning and
  • Capitalising on instructive developments internationally.

In undertaking these tasks the EGFSN will take into consideration the commitments contained within Towards 2016, the National Development Plan 2007-2013 and the previous reports of the group, in particular the National Skills Strategy to 2020.

Announcing the appointment of the new members to the EGFSN the Minister Martin said: “A highly skilled and educated labour force is essential if Ireland is to remain globally competitive. The continued work of the Expert Group on Future Skills Needs will be crucial in ensuring that Ireland is capable of meeting the future demands of industry in the medium to long term”.

The membership of the EGFSN will be comprised of representatives of employer’s bodies, trade unions and relevant State Agencies. The Minister announced the reappointment of Ms Anne Heraty as Chairperson of the EGFSN for a further three-year period.

The Minister thanked each of the new members for their willingness to participate in the work of the EGFSN and expressed his appreciation to the outgoing members.

Forfás will provide secretariat and research services to the EGFSN.

View a list of the EGFSN members here.